You may leave a message for a deputy at any time. After business hours you can access their voice mail extensions by calling the Sheriff’s Administration Office at 231-689-7303 and an automated attendant will respond to your call with directions.
Reports are typically available within 5 to 10 business days of date the report was taken. Please call during regular business hours to check the status of a report.
Accident reports are available online at www.ReportBeam.com ($10 fee) or can be purchased at the Newaygo County Sheriff’s Administrative Office ($10 fee cash, credit or debit card).
Incident reports can be obtained at our office or through the FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) process, depending on the type of report. Incident reports processed through the Sheriff’s Office are $10 and the fee for incident reports that are handled through the FOIA process vary depending on the number and type of reports requested and the length of time it takes to process the request. FOIA requests are forwarded and billed through the County Administration Office (231-689-7234). Click here open a FOIA Request Form
The following reports are not eligible for release.
- Open Investigations
- Criminal Sexual Conduct (CSC)
- Warrant Information
There is a $10.00 notary charge for a License to Purchase.
Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Please bring a current MI state ID or Driver’s license.
- Safety training class must be completed first.
- All CCW/CPL information, applications, classes and renewals are processed at the Newaygo County Clerk’s Office (231-689-7235) and kits are available at the Clerks Office or on the Michigan State Police website.
- Livescan fingerprinting is available at the Newaygo County Sheriff’s Office Monday-Friday 8:30am – 4:30pm.
The following links will provide you with additional regarding MI handgun laws and other information:
- Pistol Sales & Registration Information
- PA377 Document & FAQ’s
- MI Self-Defense Spray Laws
- MI CCW/CPL Information
- MI Gun Law FAQ’s
- US CPL Reciprocity Information
Other Areas of Reference:
Public Sex Offender List – http://www.mipsor.state.mi.us
CCW Law – http://www.michigan.gov/msp
Michigan’s Most Wanted – http://www.michigan.gov/msp
Missing Persons – http://www.michigan.gov/msp
National Center for Missing Children – http://www.missingkids.org
Department of Natural Resources – http://www.michigan.gov/dnr
CCW Sales Records – http://www.michigan.gov/documents/ri-060_6454_7.pdf
Silent Observer – www.silentobserver.org
Michigan Laws – www.legislature.mi.gov
Area Reference Telephone Numbers
Central Dispatch Non-Emergency Number (231) 689-5288
Call 211 Service – Various agency and help information
Sheriff’s Office (231) 689-7303
Newaygo County Jail (231) 689-7024
Newaygo County Jail Admin. (231) 689-7376
Animal Control (231) 689-7020
Animal Shelter (231) 689-1867
The US Forest Service (231) 745-4631
Burn Permits (866) 922-2876
Prosecutor’s Office (231) 689-7283
District Court Bond Information (231) 689-7257
District Court Traffic Tickets (231) 689-7255
District Court Probation (231) 689-7253
Circuit Court (231) 689-7252
Circuit Court Probation (231) 689-7250
Newaygo County Clerk (231) 689-7235
Family Independence Agency (231) 689-5500
Newaygo Co. Road Commission (231) 689-6682
Michigan State Police-Newaygo (231) 652-1661
Silent Observer (231) 652-1121
DNR – Department of Natural Resources
(517) 749-1591- Jeff Ginn
(517) 643-1085 – Tim Barboza