Drain Commission

Dale Twing
Drain Commission
  • 306 S North Street, PO Box 885
    White Cloud, MI 49349
    M-F 7:30am-12:00pm and 1pm-4pm

  • (231) 689-7213
    (231) 689-7266

Dedicated to provide for the health, safety and welfare of Newaygo County citizens and the protection of surface water and the environment and to promote the long term environment and economic sustainability of Newaygo County by providing storm water management, flood control, development review and water quality programs.

Website and Social Media Policy: https://www.newaygocountymi.gov/news/social-media-policy-for-public-use/ 

For more information visit the Michigan Association of County Drain Commissioners

Duties include construction and maintenance of over 300 legally established county drains within the county, holding public hearings, boards of determination meetings, determining drainage districts, hearings of apportionment, apportioning costs of drains among property owners, receiving bids and awarding contracts.

In addition the Drain Commissioner is the County Enforcing Agent for the Soil Erosion and Sedimentation Control Program enforcing Part 91 of Act 451 of 1994, as amended (formally P.A. 347 of 1972), and the Administrative Rules for all earth disturbance’s within 500 feet of a lake or stream, or the disturbance of one acre or more of land.

The Drain Commissioner works with State and Federal agencies to enforce floodplain and pollution laws, assisting in coordinating regional flood control and water quality plans.  The Drain Commissioner, by statute, reviews and must approve all plats and subdivisions to ensure that storm water management concerns have been properly addressed and that the installation of the required facilities have been properly installed and functioning.

The Drain Commissioner is a member, by statute, of the Board of Public Works, County Parks and Recreation Commission, and all established Lake Improvement Boards.  The Drain Commissioner is also the delegated authority responsible for the operation and maintenance of all court established Lake Level Control Structures in Newaygo County.

Newaygo County Drain Commission Staff

Kim David – Deputy Drain Commissioner

Steffani Clayton – Drain Secretary

Edward Miller – Drain Maintenance Supervisor

Login Kuhns – Drain Maintenance Worker