Lake Level Control Act

Dale Twing
Drain Commission
  • 306 S North Street, PO Box 885
    White Cloud, MI 49349
    M-F 7:30am-12:00pm and 1pm-4pm

  • (231) 689-7213
    (231) 689-7266

Under the Inland Lake Level Act (Act 146, P.A. of 1961), a board of commissioners may file a petition in circuit court to establish a special assessment district to pay the costs of establishing and maintaining a lake level.  The board of commissioners must file such petition if requested in writing by two-thirds of the free holders owning lands abutting the lake.

The Newaygo County Board of Commissioners historically have delegated the administrative duties to the Newaygo County Drain Commissioner to oversee lake level projects.  The Drain Commissioner must determine the apportionment of costs incurred and assess for maintenance of the lake level.  Newaygo County is responsible for seven lake level control structures: Brooks Lake Level, Fremont Lake Level, Hess Lake Level, Newaygo Lakes Level, Robinson Lake Level, Ryerson/Long Lake Level and Sand Lake Level.

Section 24 of the Inland Lake Level Act requires inspection of all lake level control structures on all inland lakes that have normal levels established under this Act to be completed once every three years by a licensed professional engineer.

Lake Winter Level Summer Level Change Dates
Brooks Constant @ 762.58
Fremont 745.59 746.59 Nov 1 – April 15
Hess Constant @ 763.30
Newaygo 759.50 760.00 Nov 15 – March 15
Robinson 794.00 795.00 Nov 15 – April 15
Ryerson Constant @ 812.50
Sand 727.50 728.00 Nov 15 – March 15