Brownfield Authority Board
  • 1087 Newell St, P.O. Box 885
    White Cloud, MI 49349
    M-F, 8 AM – 5 PM

  • (231) 689-7201

Brownfield Redevelopment Authority

In 2007, the Newaygo County Board of Commissioners, in accordance with the State of Michigan Brownfield Redevelopment Financing Act (Act 381), approved the formation of a countywide Brownfield Redevelopment Authority. The mission of the Newaygo County Brownfield Redevelopment Authority (NCBRA) is to facilitate the redevelopment of environmentally contaminated and underutilized properties located within municipalities in Newaygo County through the use of tax increment financing and other state and federal incentives.

What is a Brownfield?

A Brownfield is defined as abandoned, idle, or under-used industrial and commercial properties where expansion or redevelopment is problematic because of real or perceived environmental contamination. They can include empty gas stations or dry cleaners or they can be vacated industrial sites of landfills.

What are the Benefits of Brownfield Redevelopment?

Remediation and redevelopment of Brownfield properties provides a cleaner environment and greater economic opportunities. The reuse of these lands, rather than building on vacant land, also prevents urban sprawl and protects our open spaces, which are vital to the county’s leading industries, including agriculture and tourism.

Do You Want to Redevelop a Brownfield?

If you have a potential project that may be eligible for Brownfield incentives, please visit the links to the right to view the County-Wide Brownfield Plan, the Application for Brownfield Incentives, and the NCBRA’s Fee Schedule. Links to further Brownfield information from the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality and the Environmental Protection Agency, as well as contact information for the NCBRA Board are also provided.

For information on appointment openings and the application form for Citizen Appointments, click this link.

Brownfield Authority Board Members and Meeting Dates

  • Mark Guzniczak, Chair
  • Kasey Jernberg, Vice Chair
  • Todd Blake, Secretary
  • Michael VandenBerg
  • Jason Finch
  • Lindsay Hager
  • Lora Kalkofen
  • Jason O’Connell
  • Lola Harmon-Ramsey

Meeting Dates

  • March 16, 2023
  • May 18, 2023
  • July 20, 2023
  • September 21,2023
  • November 16, 2023
  • January 18, 2024

All meetings start at 8:30 am