Other Drains- Non-County

Dale Twing
Drain Commission
  • 306 S North Street, PO Box 885
    White Cloud, MI 49349
    M-F 7:30am-12:00pm and 1pm-4pm

  • (231) 689-7213
    (231) 689-7266

Not All Drains are County Drains

Drains, including roadside ditches, pipes, bridges and culverts under roads that drain state highways and county roads that are not designated County drains are maintained by The Newaygo County Road Commission (231-689-6682).  Drain pipes that are not county drains and are not along roads may be the property owner’s responsibility (i.e. in farm fields or parking lots creek, streams or rivers that are not under the jurisdiction of the drain commissioner are the responsibility of the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality (MDEQ) out of the Grand Rapids office,  for flooding or pollution. (Ph. # 1-616-356-0500)
Water and sewer lines are operated by the local utility authority:
  • White Cloud Sherman Utilities – 231-689-6047
  • Hesperia Wastewater Facility – 231-854-3029
  • Chain of Lakes Area Sewer Authority – 231-652-6763
In addition, some local municipalities have utility departments that also operate and maintain their own storm drain facilities.
  • City of Grant – 231-834-7904
  • City of Fremont – 231-924-2101
  • City of Newaygo – 231-652-1657