Certified Copies of Vital Records

Michigan
Jason VanderStelt
County Clerk
  • 1087 Newell St, PO Box 885
    White Cloud, MI 49349
    M-F 8am-5pm
  • (231) 689-7235
    (231) 689-7241

All copies issued are "certified copies" with a "raised seal". The issuance of certified copies is governed by Michigan Statutes and Administrative Rules. Requests may be made in person or by mail accompanied by the required fees and documentation. Written requests are normally processed on the day received.

Effective September 7, 2012, all birth certificates are issued from the Michigan Centralized Birth Certification System. Certified copies of death and marriage records are issued from Newaygo County’s certification system.

Document Requirements:

Birth records are confidential records and are available only to the person or the parent named on the record.

Additional documentation will be required of applicants stating they are an heir, legal guardian, or legal representative of the person named on the record.

A current, valid driver’s license or state issued ID is required for birth certificate requests.

Requests for birth certificates by mail must include:

  • Name
  • Date of Birth
  • Parent’s Names (including mother’s MAIDEN name)
  • Signature
  • Return address and daytime phone number
  • Copy (front and back) of driver’s license or state issued ID
  • Check or money order – payable to Newaygo County Clerk

Fees:

  • $17.00 – first copy of record
  •  $ 6.00 – additional copies of the same record requested at the same time (these fees include a surcharge to the State of Michigan)

Senior Citizen Rate (Age 65+ for your own birth record):

  • $11.00 – first copy of record
  • $ 6.00 – additional copies of the same record requested at the same time

Birth Certificate Request Form

Marriage records are open to the public and are available for licenses applied for and subsequently filed with the Newaygo County Clerk.

Requests for marriage records by mail must include:

  • Name of both Applicants at the time of application
  • Date of Marriage
  • Return address and daytime phone number
  • Signature
  • Check or money order – payable to Newaygo County Clerk

Fees:

  • $13.00 – first copy of record
  • $ 5.00 – additional copies of the same record requested at the same time

Marriage Certificate Request Form

Death records are open to the public. Newaygo County only holds death certificates for individuals whose deaths occurred in Newaygo County.

Requests for death records by mail must include:

  • Name
  • Date of Death
  • Return address and daytime phone number
  • Signature
  • Check or money order – payable to Newaygo County Clerk

Fees:

  • $13.00 – first copy of record
  • $ 5.00 – additional copies of the same record requested at the same time

Death Certificate Request Form

To access the Michigan Department of Community Health web site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdch/