

Newaygo County Board of Commissioners

9:30 A.M.

March 13, 2024

CALL TO ORDER, PRAYER, & PLEDGE	Meeting called to order by Chairperson Bryan Kolk, at 9:31 a.m., with Prayer by Newaygo County Clerk, Jason VanderStelt, and Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag led by Commissioner Ken DeLaat.
COMMISSIONERS PRESENT	James Maike, Ken DeLaat, Brenda Bird, Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk

AGENDA - MOTION NUMBER 24-090

Motion by James Maike, second by Brenda Bird, to approve the agenda for March 13, 2024. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

MINUTES

CONSENT AGENDA MOTION NO. 24-091

Motion by Charles Trapp, second by Paul Mellema, to approve the Consent Agenda dated March 13, 2024, including: the regular meeting minutes dated February 27, 2024; the Semi-Monthly Detail Analysis and Expenses dated March 6, 2024. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

RETIREMENT PRESENTATION	Kevin Drake, District Court Judge
MOTION NO.	24-092

Motion by Charles Trapp, second by Brenda Bird, to approve <u>**Resolution #03-010-24**</u> recognizing the retirement of The Honorable H. Kevin Drake, 78th District Court Judge. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

Board Chair Bryan Kolk presented Judge H. Kevin Drake with the Retirement Resolution.

RECOGNITION RESOLUTION	Beverly Figueroa, Legal Secretary III, Prosecutor's Office
MOTION NO.	24-093
Motion by Mike Kruithoff, second by Ken DeLaat, to approve Resolution #03-011-24 recognizing	
Prosecuting Attorney Legal Secretary III Beverly Figueroa. Ayes - Ken DeLaat, James Maike,	
Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.	

INTERVIEWS Mental Health Board – Four (4) three-year terms expiring 4/1/2027

Interviewed Ken DeLaat and Helen Taube who are currently on the Mental Health Board and would like to continue. Interviewed Lori Schultz who would be new to the board. Kathy Broome was unable to be in attendance but is also currently serving on the board.

ANNUAL UPDATE West Michigan Regional Shoreline Development Commission (WMSRDC), Erin Kuhn, Executive Director

- Discussed the recently released Annual Report. WMSRDC has been in existence since 1970 and services Newaygo, Lake, Mason, Muskegon, and Oceana Counties.
- Working on developing a Cemetery Mapping system through GIS.
- Was awarded a Grant that will be used to focus on food and agriculture in the 5 counties.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORT	Finance Committee
CHAIRPERSON	Commissioner Ken DeLaat
Ken DeLaat, Chairperson, reported the following actions (see below):	
MOTION NUMBER	24-079-1

Motion by Ken DeLaat, second by Brenda Bird, to approve the Commission on Aging's agreement with Community Home Health Care of Michigan to provide in-home personal care services to COA clients effective from April 1, 2024, through March 31, 2026, and authorize the Board Chaiman to sign any and all of the necessary documents. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER 24-080-1

Motion by Ken DeLaat, second by Mike Kruithoff, to approve the Commission on Aging's Provider and Partner Agreements with the Michigan Transportation Connection Rides to Wellness Program effective May 1, 2024, for a one-year term and to authorize the Board Chair or Commission on Aging Director to sign any and all necessary documents. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER

24-081-1

Motion by Ken DeLaat, second by Charles Trapp, to approve the Commission on Aging's establishment of transit fees for dedicated, individualized trips outside of Newaygo County for medical appointments effective May 1, 2024, and authorize the COA to subsidize up to 50% of the fee for residents 60 years of age and older with operating funds. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MISC COMMITTEE REPORTS James Maike, Commissioner

• Attended the Sherman Township Board meeting and they are doing well.

- Attended the Everett Township Planning Commission meeting and they are working on adding medium density lots for housing.
- Attended the Dark Sky, Big Prairie Township meeting and the Parks Board meetings as well.

MISC COMMITTEE REPORTS Brenda Bird, Commissioner

- Attended the Ensley Township Public Hearing regarding their budget.
- Attended Croton Township meeting and they are working on zoning for short term rental properties.

MISC COMMITTEE REPORTS Mike Kruithoff, Commissioner

• Attended the Ashland Township meeting and they have concerns with the wind, solar, and septic issues with the State.

MISC COMMITTEE REPORTS Charles Trapp, Commissioner

• The Marina the County recently purchased will be a tremendous asset.

MISC COMMITTEE REPORTS Bryan Kolk, Commissioner

- The Sheriff's Department drug take back day on March 8th produced 465 pounds of prescription medication.
- Sheridan Charter Township is discussing a road millage.

ADMINISTRATOR	REPORT
ADIMINISTRATOR	MEF ONT

Administrator Christopher Wren

- Received the Road Commission's audit from the state. The Auditors will be here to present next month.
- Beginning 6-month budget reviews with each department.
- The Sheriff's Department is currently fully staffed.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Doug Harmon, Road Commission

- There are \$2.5 million in projects on the books for this summer.
- The roads came through the winter well with very little frost this year.
- Attended the Troy Township meeting recently to discuss assisting with road issues.

MISCELLANEOUS Paul Mellema, Commissioner

• Public Safety and Judicial meeting will start in 6 minutes.

MISCELLANEOUS	Charles Trapp, Commissioner	
---------------	-----------------------------	--

• Would like to thank Doug Harmon of the Road Commission for attending the meeting and giving an update. Derek Wawsczyk, Road Commission Director spoke at the last Physical and Economic Development meeting.

MISCELLANEOUS	Bryan Kolk, Commissioner
Has been asked by the Michigan Association of Counties to attend the NACO conference as voting member.	

MOTION – ADJOURNMENT 24-094

Motion by Mike Kruithoff, second by Charles Trapp, to adjourn the meeting at 10:26 a.m. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

COUNTY CLERK CERTIFICATION	Jason VanderStelt, County Clerk
CHAIRPERSON CERTIFICATION	Bryan Kolk, Board Chair
DATE CERTIFIED	March 27, 2024