

Newaygo County Board of Commissioners Finance Committee

MINUTES

February 27, 2024

8:30 A.M.

CALL TO ORDER, PRAYER, & PLEDGE

Meeting called to order by Chairperson Ken DeLaat, at 8:30 a.m., with Prayer by Newaygo County Clerk, Jason VanderStelt, and Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag led by Commissioner Bryan Kolk.

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT

Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat.

AGENDA - MOTION NUMBER

24-065

Motion by Paul Mellema, second by Charles Trapp, to approve the agenda for February 27, 2024. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

MINUTES - MOTION NUMBER

24-066

Motion by Bryan Kolk, second by Paul Mellema, to approve the minutes from the February 7, 2024, regular Finance Committee meeting. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER

24-067

Motion by James Maike, second by Charles Trapp, to approve the Semi-Monthly Detail Analysis, dated February 21, 2024, for a total amount of \$383,375.18. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER

24-068

Motion by Charles Trapp, second by Paul Mellema, to ratify the January 2024 Monthly Check Register in the amount of \$3,453,266.58. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER

24-069

Motion by Paul Mellema, second by Bryan Kolk, to approve the Newaygo County Budget Report for the month of January 2024 with Budget Amendments and Transfers as presented. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORT	Physical & Economic Development
CHAIRPERSON	Commissioner Charles Trapp
MOTION NUMBER	24-054-1

Motion by Bryan Kolk, second by Charles Trapp, to approve the FY 2024 Recycling Services Grant Application to the Fremont Area Community Foundation and authorize the Board of Public Works Chairman or designee to submit the application electronically. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER 24-055-1

Motion by Charles Trapp, second by James Maike, to approve the amended lease agreement with Consumer's Energy to include a new marina property and trailhead on Hardy Pond and authorize the Board Chairman to sign any and all necessary documents. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER 24-070

Motion by Charles Trapp, second by Bryan Kolk, to collaborate with the City of White Cloud to apply for a grant from the Fremont Area Community Foundation for the purpose of funding a wayfinding sign system; to provide \$10,000.00 for the sign project; and to allow the County Administrator to sign any and all necessary documents. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORT	Public Safety/Judicial
CHAIRPERSON	Commissioner Paul Mellema
MOTION NUMBER	24-062-1

Motion by Paul Mellema, second by Charles Trapp, to approve of the 2024 Marine Safety Program Grant Application and authorize the Sheriff's Office to submit the application electronically. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER 24-063-1

Motion by Paul Mellema, second by Bryan Kolk, to approve the Newaygo County Emergency Shelter Standard Operating Procedures. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT Administrator Christopher Wren

 Awaiting the final audit numbers from the Road Commission as the State completes their audit. The audit went well and currently working on management discussion analysis for audit presentation.

MISCELLANEOUS	James Maike, Commissioner
Election day is today.	

ADJOURNMENT 24-071

Motion by Charles Trapp, second by Bryan Kolk, to adjourn the meeting at 8:53 a.m. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

COUNTY CLERK CERTIFICATION	Jason VanderStelt, County Clerk
CHAIRPERSON CERTIFICATION	Ken DeLaat, Committee Chair
DATE CERTIFIED	March 6, 2024