

Newaygo County Board of Commissioners

MINUTES

February 27, 2024

9:30 A.M.

FRATER, & FLEDGE	Meeting called to order by Chairperson Bryan Kolk, at 9:30 a.m., with Prayer by Newaygo County Clerk, Jason VanderStelt, and Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag led by Commissioner James Maike.
	, magnames to the ring road by commissioner cames mainte

James Maike, Ken DeLaat, Brenda Bird, Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk

AGENDA - MOTION NUMBER 24-072

Motion by Brenda Bird, second by James Maike, to approve the agenda for February 27, 2024. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

PUBLIC COMMENT	None
----------------	------

CONSENT AGENDA MOTION NO. 24-073

Motion by Charles Trapp, second by Paul Mellema, to approve the Consent Agenda dated February 27, 2024, including: the regular meeting minutes dated February 14, 2024; the Semi-Monthly Detail Analysis and Expenses dated February 27, 2024; the January 2024 Check Register; the January 2024 Budget Report. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

PRESENTATION	Recognition Resolution – Andrea Bliss, District Court Chief Probation Officer
MOTION NUMBER	24-074

Motion by Ken DeLaat, second by Paul Mellema, to approve <u>Resolution #02-009-24</u> recognizing District Court Chief Probation Officer Andrea Bliss. Ayes – Paul Mellema, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Brenda Bird, Ken DeLaat, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

APPOINTMENT MOTION NUMBER 24-075

Motion by Paul Mellema, second by James Maike, to appoint Linda Landheer to the 2024 Tax Allocation Board, representing the public. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

PRESENTATION Stewart Sanders, Register of Deeds

 Discussed the Extreme Weather Fireproof Vault Project. Supplied the Commissioners with drawings and specifications. This Thursday will be holding a walkthrough for potential bidders.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORT	Finance Committee	
CHAIRPERSON	Commissioner Ken DeLaat	
Ken DeLaat, Chairperson, reported the following actions (see below):		
MOTION NUMBER	24-054-1	

Motion by Ken DeLaat, second by Charles Trapp, to approve the FY 2024 Recycling Services Grant Application to the Fremont Area Community Foundation and authorize the Board of Public Works

Chairman or designee to submit the application electronically. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER 24-055-1

Motion by Ken DeLaat, second by James Maike, to approve the amended lease agreement with Consumer's Energy to include a new marina property and trailhead on Hardy Pond and authorize the Board Chairman to sign any and all necessary documents. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER 24-070

Motion by Ken DeLaat, second by Mike Kruithoff, to collaborate with the City of White Cloud to apply for a grant from the Fremont Area Community Foundation for the purpose of funding a wayfinding sign system; to provide \$10,000.00 for the sign project; and allow the County Administrator to sign any and all necessary documents. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER 24-062-1

Motion by Ken DeLaat, second by Mike Kruithoff, to approve of the 2024 Marine Safety Program Grant Application and authorize the Sheriff's Office to submit the application electronically. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER 24-063-1

Motion by Ken DeLaat, second by Mike Kruithoff, to approve of the Newaygo County Emergency Shelter Standard Operating Procedures. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MISC COMMITTEE REPORTS Paul Mellema, Commissioner

• Attended the LEPT meeting last week on Tuesday. Also attended the City of Fremont Leadership meeting a few weeks ago.

MISC COMMITTEE REPORTS James Maike, Commissioner

• Attended the Everett Township, Parks, and Northern Michigan Counties meetings recently.

MISC COMMITTEE REPORTS Brenda Bird, Commissioner

 Attended the Brooks Township meeting and is very proud of their board. Also attended the recent MSU Extension meeting.

MISC COMMITTEE REPORTS Bryan Kolk, Commissioner

Attended the Bridgeton Township budget meeting and they are doing very well.

ADMINISTRATOR REPORT Administrator Christopher Wren

- March 6th is the Newaygo County Economic Development Outlook meeting from 2:30p.m. to 5p.m.
- Planning on presenting Newaygo Counties market methodology at the upcoming UCOA meeting.

PUBLIC COMMENT	Stewart Sanders, Register of Deeds
Would like to thank Administration for all their assistance on the vault project	

• Would like to thank Administration for all their assistance on the vault project.

MISCELLANEOUS Brenda Bird, Commissioner

• Discussed that the MSU Extension provides a free online beekeeping course.

MOTION – ADJOURNMENT 24-076

Motion by James Maike, second by Mike Kruithoff, to adjourn the meeting at 10:09 a.m. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Brenda Bird, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Motion carried.

COUNTY CLERK CERTIFICATION	Jason VanderStelt, County Clerk
CHAIRPERSON CERTIFICATION	Bryan Kolk, Board Chair
DATE CERTIFIED	March 13, 2024