

## Newaygo County Board of Commissioners

## ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES

January 3, 2024

9:00 A.M.

CALL TO ORDER, PRAYER, & PLEDGE	Meeting called to order by Vice Chairperson James Maike at 9:00 a.m., with Prayer by Newaygo County Clerk, Jason VanderStelt, and Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag led by Commissioner Brenda Bird.				
COMMISSIONERS PRESENT	Paul Mellema, Mike Kruithoff, James Maike, Brenda Bird, Charles Trapp, Ken DeLaat				
COMMISSIONERS ABSENT	Bryan Kolk (excused)				

AGENDA - MOTION NUMBER 24-001

Motion by Charles Trapp, second by Mike Kruithoff, to approve the agenda for the January 3, 2024 Organizational Meeting. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Mike Kruithoff, James Maike, Brenda Bird, Charles Trapp, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Absent – Bryan Kolk. Motion carried.

	Vice Chairperson James Maike called for nominations for Vice-Chairperson of the Board. Ken DeLaat nominated James Maike to fill this position for the 2024 term. No other nominations were presented.
VICE CHAIR - MOTION NUMBER	24-002

Motion by Charles Trapp, second by Ken DeLaat, to close the nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for James Maike as Vice-Chairperson of the Board. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Mike Kruithoff, James Maike, Brenda Bird, Charles Trapp, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Absent – Bryan Kolk. Motion carried.

0004 MEETING DATES	
2024 MEETING DATES	24 002
MOTION NUMBER	24-003
INIOTION NOINIDEN	

Motion by Brenda Bird, second by Mike Kruithoff, to approve the 2024 dates and times of the meetings as presented. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Mike Kruithoff, James Maike, Brenda Bird, Charles Trapp, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Absent – Bryan Kolk. Motion carried.

2024 BOARD RULES	04.004
MOTION NUMBER	24-004

Motion by Charles Trapp, second by Brenda Bird, to adopt the 2024 Board of Commissioners' Rules as presented. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Mike Kruithoff, James Maike, Brenda Bird, Charles Trapp, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Absent – Bryan Kolk. Motion carried.

MISCELLANEOUS	None	
PUBLIC COMMENT	None	
MOTION - ADJOURNMENT	24-005	
Motion by Charles Trapp, second by Mike Kruithoff, to adjourn the meeting at 9:06 a.m. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Mike Kruithoff, James Maike, Brenda Bird, Charles Trapp, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Absent – Bryan Kolk, Motion carried		

COUNTY CLERK CERTIFICATION	Jason VanderStelt, County Clerk
CHAIRPERSON CERTIFICATION	Bryan Kolk, Board Chair
DATE CERTIFIED	January 10, 2024