

Newaygo County Board of Commissioners Finance Committee

MINUTES

January 17, 2024

9:30 A.M.

CALL TO ORDER, PRAYER, & PLEDGE	Meeting called to order by Chairperson Ken DeLaat, at 9:30 a.m., with Prayer by Newaygo County Clerk, Jason VanderStelt, and Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag led by Commissioner Paul Mellema.
COMMISSIONERS PRESENT	Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat
AGENDA - MOTION NUMBER	24-020

Motion by Charles Trapp, second by Bryan Kolk, to approve the agenda for January 17, 2024. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

PUBLIC COMMENT None

MINUTES - MOTION NUMBER 24-021

Motion by Bryan Kolk, second by James Maike, to approve the minutes from the January 3, 2024, regular Finance Committee meeting. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER

Motion by Charles Trapp, second by Paul Mellema, to approve the Semi-Monthly Detail Analysis, dated January 17, 2024, for a total amount of \$440,152.51. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER

24-023

24-022

Motion by James Maike, second by Bryan Kolk, to ratify the December 2023 Monthly Check Register in the amount of \$4,604,635.10. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER

24-024

Motion by Charles Trapp, second by Bryan Kolk, to approve the Newaygo County Budget Report for the month of December 2023 with Budget Amendments and Transfers as presented. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER 24-025

Motion by Bryan Kolk, second by Paul Mellema, to accept the proposal submitted by CLD Construction to complete work as detailed in the Sheriff's Storage Facility Project Scope of Work at a cost no to exceed \$593,000.00, and authorize the Sheriff to sign any and all necessary documents; money to come from ARPA 17 Sheriff's Storage Facility Project. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – James Maike. Motion carried.

Note – Commissioner Maike voted Nay as he would have liked this motion to be accompanied with drawings of the plan.

MOTION NUMBER

24-026

Motion by Charles Trapp, second by James Maike, to accept the proposal submitted by Nieboer Electric Inc., for the Diamond Lake County Park Campsite electrical upgrades at a cost not to exceed \$25,850.00, to be paid from the County Parks Budget, and authorize the County Administrator to sign any and all necessary documents. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat, James Maike. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER

24-027

Motion by Bryan Kolk, second by Charles Trapp, to accept the proposal submitted by Brant Electric Inc., for the Sandy Beach County Park Campsite electrical upgrades at a cost not to exceed \$39,296.00, to be paid from the County Parks Budget, and authorize the County Administrator to sign any and all necessary documents. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat, James Maike. Nays – none. Motion carried.

MOTION NUMBER

24-028

Motion by James Maike, second by Paul Mellema, to accept the proposal submitted by Nieboer Electric Inc., for the White Cloud County Park utility pole installation at a cost not to exceed \$12,225.00, to be paid from the County Parks Budget, and authorize the County Administrator to sign any and all necessary documents. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat, James Maike. Nays – none. Motion carried.

ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT	Administrator Christopher Wren
Niethine te verent	

• Nothing to report.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

MISCELLANEOUS Bryan Kolk, Commissioner

- Attended the Sheridan Charter Township meeting last evening, and they are discussing bringing a millage forward for road improvements.
- The Emergency Operation Center struggled with finding warming centers in the County. The Commission on Aging Building was used as well as the Croton Fire Barn and Garfield Township Hall.

ADJOURNMENT 24-029 Motion by Charles Trapp, second by Bryan Kolk, to adjourn the meeting at 10:47 a.m. Ayes – Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, James Maike, Bryan Kolk, Ken DeLaat. Nays – none. Motion carried.

COUNTY CLERK CERTIFICATION	Jason VanderStelt, County Clerk
CHAIRPERSON CERTIFICATION	Ken DeLaat, Committee Chair
DATE CERTIFIED	February 7, 2024