

Newaygo County Board of Commissioners

MINUTES

January 10, 2024

9:30 A.M.

CALL TO ORDER, PRAYER, & PLEDGE	Meeting called to order by Chairperson Bryan Kolk, at 9:30 a.m., with Prayer by Newaygo County Clerk, Jason VanderStelt, and Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag led by Commissioner Paul Mellema.	
COMMISSIONERS PRESENT	James Maike, Ken DeLaat, Paul Mellema, Charles Trapp, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk	
COMMISSIONERS ABSENT	Brenda Bird (excused)	

AGENDA - MOTION NUMBER 24-014

Motion by James Maike, second by Paul Mellema, to approve the agenda for January 10, 2024. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Absent – Brenda Bird. Motion carried.

PUBLIC COMMENT	None	
----------------	------	--

CONSENT AGENDA MOTION NO. 24-015

Motion by Charles Trapp, second by Mike Kruithoff, to approve the Consent Agenda dated January 10, 2024, including: the regular meeting minutes dated December 20, 2023; the organizational meeting minutes dated January 3, 2024, the Semi-Monthly Detail Analysis and Expenses dated January 3, 2024. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Absent – Brenda Bird. Motion carried.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORT	Finance Committee	
CHAIRPERSON	Commissioner Ken DeLaat	
Ken DeLaat, Chairperson, reported the following actions (see below):		
MOTION NUMBER	24-009	

Motion by Ken DeLaat, second by Paul Mellema, to approve the mileage rate reimbursement for business use of an automobile FROM \$0.655 (65.5 cents) TO \$0.67 (67.0 cents) per mile (the Internal Revenue Service standard mileage reimbursement rate) for reimbursable mileage effective January 1, 2024, for all county departments. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Absent – Brenda Bird. Motion carried.

MISC. COMMITTEE REPORT Charles Trapp, Commissioner

The Board of Public Works is currently looking for a new company for hazardous waste. The
previous company does not do it on the weekends anymore. Currently looking for bids for this
project.

ADMINISTRATOR REPORT Administrator Christopher Wren

- Received notice from EGLE to begin material management plan.
- Will be having interviews for the Dispatch Director with Sheriff Mendham and EMS Director Abby Watkins.

PUBLIC COMMENT Dale Twing, Drain Commissioner

• It has been challenging working with EGLE regarding recycling. Recently met with the Fremont Area Community Foundation regarding recycling and direction headed.

MISCELLANEOUS Paul Mellema, Commissioner

 Spoke with Justin Moon of the Road Commission regarding the snowstorm and they are in the process of removing branches from roadways.

MOTION – ADJOURNMENT 24-016

Motion by James Maike, second by Mike Kruithoff, to adjourn the meeting at 9:41 a.m. Ayes – Ken DeLaat, James Maike, Charles Trapp, Paul Mellema, Mike Kruithoff, Bryan Kolk. Nays – none. Absent – Brenda Bird. Motion carried.

COUNTY CLERK CERTIFICATION	Jason VanderStelt, County Clerk	
CHAIRPERSON CERTIFICATION	Bryan Kolk, Board Chair	
DATE CERTIFIED	January 24, 2024	