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use this one for Michigan 
Why Michigan Has ORV Laws
Minimum ages for ORV operation are the result of an 
extensive review by the Michigan Legislature. The hearing 
process caused everyone to focus on the alarming statistics 
regarding young riders. 

As accident data shows, the consequences of a few daring 
moments on an ORV can be devastating.

◆◆ Preserving and enhancing public safety in the field of 
outdoor recreation are of paramount importance.

◆◆ Recognizing that there are potential safety hazards in 
off-road vehicle riding, the Michigan Legislature has enacted 
regulations that directly affect:
•	Operation of ORVs by children under 16 years of age
•	Safety equipment that is required of all ORV operators 

and passengers
•	Strict controls on the use and possession of alcohol while 

operating ORVs
•	Unlawful operation on roads open to regular vehicle traffic

Before You Ride

ORV Accident Data
Statistics show that in 41% of the deaths resulting from 
ORV accidents, the victim was under 16 years of age. 
Additionally, other young victims were left paralyzed, 
brain damaged, or with other serious permanent injuries. 
Most of the accidents involving young riders could be 
traced to a number of factors such as lack of supervision, 
machine design characteristics, and lack of training. Some 
parents appeared to be unaware of many of these hazards. 
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◆◆ Responsibilities come with the ownership and operation of 
an ORV. Adults bear the burdens of passing on responsible 
conservation and outdoor ethics to young operators under 
their supervision and setting the example for all other ORV 
enthusiasts. 

◆◆ It is important to consider the potential impact of ORVs 
on Michigan’s fragile environment, and to operate ORVs 
in a manner that minimizes conflicts with others who are 
enjoying the fields and forests of the state.

◆◆ Michigan’s conservation officers play 
an important role in ensuring that 
ORV recreational opportunities are 
available for safe and responsible users. 
They accomplish this through aggres-
sive enforcement and a continued will-
ingness to respond to public concerns. 
They are an important bridge between ORV users and the 
non-riding public. Use them and assist them to ensure the 
future of ORV recreation.

Licensing and Titling Your Vehicle 
◆◆ Owners of ORVs are required to:
•	Obtain a certificate of title for the ORV through the 

Secretary of State. Note: A Michigan title is not required 
on ORVs owned by nonresidents and used in Michigan.

•	License the ORV with the Department of Natural 
Resources (DNR) if the ORV will be used anywhere 
other than private property. 

ORV Certificate of Title
◆◆ Every ORV sold through a dealer must be accompanied by 
a certificate of origin. This certificate of origin contains all 
of the information needed for applying for a certificate of 
title. The application for a title is made to the Secretary of 
State, and the fee for processing the title is $11.00.
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◆◆ It is unlawful for a seller to sell or transfer an ORV without 
transferring the title or for a buyer to purchase or acquire an 
ORV without obtaining a title. 
•	If an ORV is purchased through a dealer, application for a 

title will be made by the dealer on behalf of the buyer.
•	If an ORV is purchased from someone other than a 

dealer, the buyer applies for a title.
◆◆ Application for a title must be made within 15 days of 
purchase or transfer. 

ORV License
◆◆ The DNR issues licenses for all ORVs on an annual basis. 
The annual fee for an ORV license is $16.25.

◆◆ Licenses are valid from April 1 through March 31 of the 
following year, regardless of the date of purchase.

◆◆ Vehicles that are licensed under the Motor Vehicle Code as 
“street vehicles” require an ORV license only when they are 
being used as an ORV. A street-licensed ORV does not need 
an ORV license to use forest roads, but it will need an ORV 
license if it is used on designated trails or in areas designated 
for cross-country use.

Where To License ORVs
ORV licenses are available from the DNR at 
DNR Operations Service Centers, over the 
Internet at www.mdnr-elicense.com, by mail, through 
participating ORV dealers, and through participating 
hunting and fishing license agents.

For licensing information, call the DNR at: 
	 517-373-1204
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◆◆ An ORV license is not required for street-licensed vehicles 
used on the frozen surface of public waters or designated 
ORV routes.

◆◆ Private land owners, owners’ family members, and their 
invited guests are not required to license ORVs that are 
operated exclusively on the owners’ private property. 

◆◆ Licensing is required of ORVs used in areas open to public 
operations, regardless of whether the ORV is owned by a 
resident or nonresident of Michigan.

Displaying the ORV License 
It is unlawful to operate an ORV without having a valid 
license permanently attached and visibly displayed on the 
vehicle in the following manner. 

◆◆ 2-Wheel Vehicle: Center the ORV license on the exposed 
rear fender.

◆◆ 3- or 4-Wheel Vehicle (ATV): Place the ORV license 
on a flat metal surface, a bumper, or a plate permanently 
attached to the rear of the ORV.

◆◆ Other ORVs, Including Dune Buggies and 4-Wheel-
Drive Trucks: Place the ORV license centered and visible 
on the rear of the vehicle.

ORV License

www.michigan.gov/dnr

FEE $16.25
License is required by authority of Act 451, 

PA. 1994 as amended.  Violation of the provisions 
of this Act may result in fines and/or imprisonment. 

EXPIRES:   03/31/2012

IC9405-1 (Rev.07/01/2010) 
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Before an ORV may be operated on any  
property, the operator is responsible for ensuring that the 
vehicle and its riders have the required equipment. 

For Operators and Passengers
All ORV operators and passengers must wear a U.S. 
Department of Transportation–approved crash helmet 
and protective eyewear or goggles, except when the ORV 
is equipped with an approved roof and the operator and 
passengers are wearing properly adjusted and fastened safety 
belts. 

For Off-Road Vehicles
The ORV must be equipped with the following.

◆◆ Braking System: A braking system in good working 
condition that operates by either hand or foot

◆◆ Throttle System: A throttle system designed to return the 
engine speed to idle automatically and immediately when 
pressure is released

◆◆ Spark Arrestor and Muffler: A U.S. Forest Service–
approved spark arrestor and muffler in good working 
condition, in constant operation, and meeting applicable 
sound-level standards (see “Sound Emission Regulations,” 
page 41)

◆◆ Seating: Designed, manufactured seating for each passenger
◆◆ Lights: If operated during the hours of one-half hour 
after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise, must have and 
display all of the following:
•	A lighted headlight
•	A lighted taillight
•	A brake light, brighter than the taillight

Required Equipment
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Operator Age Restrictions
Restrictions are in effect on the operation of ORVs by 
children under the age of 16, including a safety education 
requirement (see page 32). There also are specific obligations 
that fall upon the parents or legal guardians of ORV riders 
under the age of 16 and upon the owners of ORVs.

Operation of 3-Wheel ATVs
No one under the age of 16 may operate any 3‑wheel ATV. 

Operation of 4-Wheel ATVs
◆◆ No one under the age of 10 may operate any 4-wheel ATV 
except on private land while performing farm-related work 
operations. 

◆◆ Children 10 and 11 years old may operate a 4‑wheel ATV 
only when all of the following conditions are met.
•	The ATV is being operated on land owned by the child’s 

parent or guardian and …
•	The operator is under the direct visual supervision (see 

definition below) of an adult and …
•	The operator possesses a valid ORV safety certificate.

◆◆ Children 12 to 15 years old may operate a 4-wheel ATV 
only when both of the following conditions are met.
•	The operator is under the direct visual supervision of an 

adult and …
•	The operator possesses a valid ORV safety certificate.

Young ORV Operators

Direct Visual Supervision: having direct observation with 
the unaided or normally corrected eye and being close 
enough to come to the immediate aid of a youthful 
ORV operator
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Operation of Other ORVs
◆◆ Children under 16 years old may operate other ORVs (trail 
bikes, for example) only when both of the following condi-
tions are met.
•	The operator is under the direct visual supervision of an 

adult and …
•	The operator possesses a valid ORV safety certificate.

Restrictions on Crossing Roads
◆◆ No child under the age of 12 may cross any street, highway, 
or county road while operating any ORV. 

◆◆ Children who are at least 12 years old may cross streets 
and roads (only at right angles) if they are under the direct 
visual supervision of an adult and have a valid ORV safety 
certificate. 

Remember ... 
The parents or legal guardians of a child under the age of 
16 are legally responsible if they permit the child under 
their care to violate any of the ORV laws. The owner (or 
person in control) of an ORV is also responsible if his or 
her ORV is operated by a youngster.
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Age of ORV Operator (years)
 

Under 10 
 

10-11 
 

12-15 
16 or 
older

Allowed 
to operate 
a 3‑wheel 
ATV?

No No No Yes

Allowed 
to operate 
a 4‑wheel 
ATV?

No  
except on 

private 
land while 
performing 
farm-related 

work 
operations

No  
except on 

land owned 
by the parent 
or guardian, 
under visual 
supervision, 

and with 
ORV 

certificate

Yes 
if under visual 

supervision 
and with 

ORV 
certificate

Yes

Allowed 
to operate 
other ORVs 
(trail bikes, 
etc.)?

Yes 
if under visual 

supervision 
and with 

ORV 
certificate

Yes 
if under visual 

supervision 
and with 

ORV 
certificate

Yes 
if under visual 

supervision 
and with 

ORV 
certificate

Yes

Allowed 
to cross 
street or 
highway?

No No Yes 
if under visual 

supervision 
and with 

ORV 
certificate

Yes

Age and Engine Size: For your child’s safety and comfort, you must 
match your child with an ORV that is appropriate for his or her size 
and experience level. 

Summary of Young Operator Regulations
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ORV Safety Education Requirement
◆◆ All ORV operators under 16 years old are required to 
possess a valid safety training certificate when operating an 
ORV. 

◆◆ To obtain a safety certificate, the operator must take an 
ORV safety education course (see below) and pass the certi-
fication exam.

◆◆ The operator must carry the safety certificate on his or her 
person and present it upon demand of a law enforcement 
officer.

Information on ORV Courses
Information on courses and scheduling can 
be obtained by calling the Department of 
Natural Resources at 517‑373‑1230 or by visiting the 
DNR website at www.michigan.gov/dnr. Click on “Find 
Recreational Safety Classes in Your Area” under “Things 
To Do.”

For special youth requirements at Silver Lake State Park, 
call 231‑873‑3083.
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Indiscriminate ORV use has damaged fragile  
ecosystems on both public and private lands. Complaints of 
erosion on hills and trails, destruction of stream banks and 
beds, and conflicts with other users have led to more restrictive 
rules to control ORV abuses. 

ORV Land Use Definitions 
The DNR administers over four million acres of land used 
for a variety of purposes. Wise use of those lands includes 
preserving natural features and wildlife habitat and encour-
aging a variety of recreational uses. Just as other users are 
limited in their activities in order to protect and conserve these 
vital resources while minimizing conflicts with other activities, 
ORV enthusiasts are restricted in where and how they may 
operate. 

◆◆ Signs that you may see on state roads, trails, and routes are 
shown on page 49.

◆◆ The following terms may be used when describing where or 
how ORVs may be operated on state-owned lands.
•	Designated: Any place that is posted as open for ORV 

use with appropriate signs.
•	Designated Area: An area that has signs for cross-

country ORV use posted by the DNR. An ORV license is 
required.

Land Use Rules

Report Abuse
For the future of your sport, as well as the 
future of the resources, you must know and 
closely follow the operating regulations and encourage 
others to do likewise. Violations of these and other rules 
should be reported immediately to the nearest DNR 
office or to the DNR Law Enforcement Division’s 
“Complaint” hotline: 1-800-292-7800.
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•	Designated Route: A forest road or other road that is 
designated by the DNR for ORV use.

•	Forest Roads: Hard-surfaced roads, gravel or dirt roads, 
or other routes capable of travel by a 2‑wheel-drive, 
4-wheel conventional vehicle designed for highway use, 
except an interstate, state, or county highway.

•	Forest Trails: Designated paths or ways capable of travel 
only by a vehicle that is an overall width of less than 50 
inches.

•	Highway: The entire width between the boundary lines 
of a way publicly maintained when any part of the way 
is open to the use of the public for purposes of vehicular 
travel.

•	Designated ORV Trail: Designated paths or ways that 
can only be traveled by vehicles that are less than 50 
inches in width. An ORV license is required.

ORV Trail Maps
Visit www.michigan.gov/dnr. 
Click on “Camping and 
Recreation” and select 
“ORV/ATV” to obtain 
ORV trail maps for state-
owned lands.
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ORV Operation on State-Owned Lands
◆◆ State Forest Lands: ORV restrictions vary by location. 
•	Upper Peninsula: ORV operation is permitted on desig-

nated trails and forest roads in the Upper Peninsula unless 
posted as closed.

•	Lower Peninsula: ORV operation is permitted on all 
designated trails, designated areas, and designated routes 
(forest roads that are designated for ORV use) in the 
Lower Peninsula.

•	Statewide: ORV use on designated trails is limited to 
vehicles with an overall width of less than 50 inches. 
Off-trail or off-route operation outside of a designated 
area is prohibited except for hunters operating an ORV at 
speeds of 5 mph or less for the purpose of removing deer, 
bear, or elk.

◆◆ State Game Areas: All motorized vehicle operation is 
prohibited except on established roads open to the public. 
ORVs are specifically prohibited. These areas are found 
primarily in the southern third of Michigan. 

◆◆ State Parks and State Recreation Areas: ORV operation 
is prohibited in all state parks and recreation areas except in 
designated areas of Silver Lake State Park. 

Cross-Country ORV Operation 
Cross-country ORV operation on state-owned lands is 
permitted only at:

•	Designated areas at Silver Lake State Park in Oceana 
County

•	St. Helen Motorsport Area in Roscommon County
•	Black Mountain Scramble Area in Cheboygan 

County (the Scramble Area is restricted to ORVs 
that are an overall width of less than 50 inches. 
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ORV Operation on National Forest Lands
In all national forests, motor vehicles can be used only on 
roads, trails, or areas that are designated as open. This includes 
all motorized wheeled vehicles from ATVs to street-legal 
vehicles.
Motor Vehicle Use Maps are published for each forest to 
show the designated system of roads, trails, or areas available 
for motor vehicle use by vehicle class and, if appropriate, by 
time of year. Motor Vehicle Use Maps are updated annually 
to show changes. The public is encouraged to provide sugges-
tions on yearly changes. Motor Vehicle Use Maps are free to 
the public and available at Forest Service offices or from Forest 
Service websites.

For more information, you can call or visit the 
following websites.
Forest Service Travel Management and OHV
www.fs.fed.us/recreation/programs/ohv
Huron-Manistee National Forests
1-800-821-6263
www.fs.fed.us/r9/hmnf
Hiawatha National Forest
906-786-4062
www.fs.fed.us/r9/forests/hiawatha
Ottawa National Forest
906-932-1330
www.fs.fed.us/r9/ottawa

Copyright © 2011 Kalkomey Enterprises, Inc., www.kalkomey.com



36 37It’s the Law!

Prohibited ORV Operation on Other Lands
◆◆ Roads, streets, and highways maintained for year-round 
automobile travel are closed to ORV operation, including 
the shoulder and the right-of-way. (That is, the entire 
width between boundary lines of public ways maintained 
for vehicular travel is closed to ORVs.) However, ORVs 
registered as motor vehicles by the Secretary of State may be 
operated on the roadway.

◆◆ ORVs may be operated on a roadway in accordance with a 
locally enacted ordinance. The ORV rider is responsible for 
contacting the local authorities to find out which roadways 
are open to ORV use.

◆◆ Private land is closed to ORV operation, except for use 
by the landowner and the landowner’s invited guests. The 
failure of a landowner to post or fence private property 
against ORV use does not imply consent to ORV operation. 

◆◆ ORV operation is permitted on the ice of public waters; 
however, unless an ORV is being operated at the minimum 
speed necessary for controlled forward movement, the ORV 
may not be operated within 100 feet of:
•	Another person
•	An ice fishing shanty
•	An area cleared for ice skating

◆◆ An ORV may not be operated in a manner that creates an 
erosive condition. Michigan’s soils and shorelines are fragile, 
and ORV operation in these areas and along stream banks 
and other waterways is restricted. 

◆◆ It is unlawful to operate any ORV in or on the waters 
of any stream, river, marsh, bog, wetland, swamp, or 
quagmire, unless you are driving on a bridge, culvert, or 
similar structure.
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ORV Operation on Various Land Types
Land Type ORVs Less than 50 

Inches Wide Overall 
(most ATVs and trail 
bikes)

ORVs 50 Inches in Overall 
Width or Wider (trucks, 
dune buggies, and tracked 
vehicles)

State forest lands L.P.: on designated open 
trails and routes. U.P.: on 
forest roads and designated 
trails and routes. Black 
Mountain Designated ORV 
Scramble Area (Cheboygan 
County).

L.P.: only on forest roads 
designated as open if ORV not 
Secretary of State licensed. 
U.P.: on forest routes and roads 
unless posted as closed.

St. Helen Motorsport Area (Roscommon County).

State game areas No motorized vehicle operation except on established roads 
open to the public. ORVs are prohibited.

State parks & recreation 
areas

Silver Lake State Park, Oceana County, is only state park 
where cross-country (scramble) operation is permitted. Contact 
the park about special rules at 231-873-3083.

National forest lands Check with the Forest Supervisor’s Office or appropriate 
District Office.

Local government lands 
(county, etc.)

Subject to ordinances and signing or posting. ORV access 
routes may be established by local ordinance.

Commercial forest lands, 
public utility right-of-way, 
and other private lands

Only with permission of the landowner.

Streams, rivers, bogs, 
wetlands, marshes, etc.

ORV operation of all kinds prohibited. You may only cross any 
of these on bridges, culverts, or other structures.

State and U.S. highways All ORV operation prohibited on roadway and shoulder.

County roads, other roads 
open to cars

ORV operation prohibited on roadway and shoulder unless 
opened by local ordinance as designated ORV access routes.
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Accidents
◆◆ The operator of an ORV involved in an accident resulting 
in injury to a person must stop immediately at the scene 
and secure medical aid or transportation. 

◆◆ The operator of an ORV involved in an accident resulting 
in injury to a person, death, or estimated property damage 
of $100.00 or more must immediately notify the State 
Police or Sheriff ’s office of the county in which the accident 
occurred and complete an accident report.

Penalties
◆◆ Criminal penalties range from a misdemeanor to a felony. 
Civil penalties can range up to $500. Misdemeanors are 
punishable by a fine of not less than $250 or more than 
$1,000, imprisonment for up to 90 days, or both a fine and 
imprisonment.

◆◆ Persons may be held financially responsible for ecological 
damage caused by their ORV and ordered to restore such 
damaged property to the original condition. 

◆◆ Additional penalties for operating an ORV under the 
influence of alcohol or controlled substances can be 
imposed and are more severe. 

◆◆ A person convicted of manslaughter, negligent homicide, or 
a felony resulting from off-road vehicle operation will have 
six points assessed against his or her driver’s license.

◆◆ Serious criminal violations also may result in seizure and 
condemnation of the ORV.

Riding Your ORV
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Alcohol
ORV riding, like any other activity involving a motor vehicle, 
demands the full attention of the operator. This is reflected in 
the rules regarding alcohol use while operating an ORV, which 
are virtually identical to the laws regarding alcohol in the 
motor vehicle code. 

◆◆ Open containers of alcoholic beverages may not be 
transported in or upon an ORV unless in a trunk or 
compartment separate from the passenger compartment of 
the vehicle. 

◆◆ An ORV operator is considered to have given implied 
consent to chemical tests of blood, breath, or urine for 
blood alcohol levels.

◆◆ A statutory presumption of intoxication exists for a person 
with a blood alcohol level of 0.10 grams or more per 100 
milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milli-
liters of urine.

◆◆ A person who operates an off-road vehicle in Michigan 
either while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled 
substance or with an unlawful blood alcohol content and 
who causes a serious impairment of a body function of 
another person is guilty of a felony.

◆◆ A person convicted of operating an off-road vehicle either 
while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled 
substance or with an unlawful blood alcohol content will 
have six points assessed against his or her driver’s license. 
A person convicted of 
operating an off-road vehicle 
while visibly impaired will 
have four points assessed 
against his or her driver’s 
license. A DEADLY MIX

Copyright © 2011 Kalkomey Enterprises, Inc., www.kalkomey.com



40 41It’s the Law!

Sound Emission Regulations
Excessive noise is a common complaint made against  
ORV users. 

◆◆ All ORVs must have, in good working condition and in 
constant use, a muffler that will meet or exceed all sound 
emission standards set by state law. 

◆◆ Exhaust noise must not exceed 99 dB(A)—or 94 dB(A) on 
vehicles manufactured after January 1, 1986—when tested 
according to the provisions of the SAE J1287 test. (Refer to 
the manufacturer’s documentation.)

◆◆ Users should replace all worn or damaged exhaust systems 
with a quality muffler. 

◆◆ Motocross motorcycles are designed for closed course 
competition and not for recreational riding. These vehicles 
must be modified before being operated on public trails, 
routes, or land.

ORV Operation Regulations
◆◆ If your license to operate an automobile has been suspended 
(regardless of the state where the suspension originated), 
you may not operate an off-road vehicle in Michigan until 
the suspension has been terminated by the court.

◆◆ An ORV operator must stop upon the signal of a law 
enforcement officer.

◆◆ On private property, an ORV operator must stop upon the 
signal of a landowner.

◆◆ In addition to restrictions on state-owned lands and other 
violations previously noted, ORV operation is prohibited:
•	In any forest nursery or planting area
•	On a DNR-dedicated natural area
•	In any area in a manner that would injure, damage, or 

destroy trees or growing crops
•	In any area in a manner that creates an erosive condition
•	On or across a cemetery or burial ground, or land used as 

an airport
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•	Within 100 feet of a dwelling at a speed greater than 
the minimum speed necessary for controlled forward 
movement except when operating on private property or 
on designated routes, trails, areas, or access routes

•	On lands of another without permission
•	Within 100 feet of a slide, ski, or skating area
•	On a DNR–designated snowmobile trail located in the 

Lower Peninsula unless it’s also designated for ORV use
•	On any operating or non-abandoned railroad or railroad 

right-of-way, or public utility right-of-way, (except to cross 
at a designated railroad crossing)

•	In or upon the waters of any stream, river, bog, wetland, 
marsh, or quagmire

◆◆ ORV operation is prohibited in public hunting areas during 
the regular November firearm deer season, from 7:00 a.m. to 
11:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m., except for these cases:
•	Going to or from a residence or hunting camp that is 

inaccessible by a conventional vehicle (subject to state 
land regulations)

•	On private property, with landowner’s permission
•	Passenger vehicles while being operated on roads capable 

of sustaining automobile traffic
•	Persons holding a “Permit to Hunt From a Standing 

Vehicle” or otherwise meeting disability requirements (see 
page 44) while engaged in hunting or fishing activity

◆◆ An ORV may not be operated on any public highway, 
street, or right-of-way, except:
•	To cross at right angles after a complete stop (not on 

limited access highways)
•	For ORVs also registered as motor vehicles under the 

Michigan Vehicle Code
•	In a special event held under a government permit

◆◆ ORVs may be operated on a roadway in accordance with 
a locally enacted ordinance. ORV riders are encouraged to 
contact the appropriate local political subdivision to obtain 
ordinance specifics.
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◆◆ An ORV may not be operated:
•	At a rate of speed greater than is reasonable and proper 

based on existing conditions.
•	In a careless manner without due regard for existing 

conditions.
•	In a manner that leaves behind litter or debris.
•	To hunt, pursue, harass, or attempt to kill any animal or 

bird.
•	While transporting a strung, uncased bow or an uncased 

or loaded firearm unless:
ɠɠ The firearm is a pistol (concealed or not) and …
ɠɠ The person transporting the pistol or carrying a loaded 

pistol has a Concealed Pistol License or is exempt from 
the license requirement.

•	While transporting or possessing an alcoholic beverage 
that is open or uncapped (seal has been broken).

•	While under the influence of alcohol or a controlled 
substance.

•	While visibly impaired due to alcohol or a controlled 
substance.

•	While transporting a passenger unless the vehicle has been 
designed by the manufacturer to carry passengers.

•	While the operator is under a court suspension of ORV 
or automobile operating rights.

•	When the ORV is unlicensed.
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Persons With Disabilities
◆◆ Persons who meet the following criteria are permitted to operate 
licensed ORVs with an overall width of less than 50 inches on 
forest roads that are on state lands and open to public vehicular 
travel (including those not posted as open to ORVs):
•	Those persons with a valid temporary or permanent handi-

capped parking permit issued by the Secretary of State
•	Those persons holding Permits to Hunt From a Standing 

Vehicle
•	Those persons with a physician’s certification for any of 

the following disabilities: loss of one or both legs or feet; 
inability to walk more than 200 feet without having to 
stop and rest; inability to walk without prolonged use of 
wheelchair, walker, crutches, braces, or other devices to 
aide in mobility; lung disease from which the person’s 
expiratory volume for one second is less than one liter 
when measured by spirometry; lung disease from which 
the person’s arterial oxygen is less than 60 mm/hg of room 
air at rest; cardiovascular disease from which the person 
measures between 3 and 4 on the heart classification scale; 
cardiovascular disease from which a marked limitation of 
physical activity causes fatigue, palpitation, dyspnea, or 
anginal pain; or other disease or disorder including, but 
not limited to, severe arthritis or neurological-orthopedic 
impairment that creates a severe mobility limitation

•	Those persons with obvious severe disabilities (i.e., 
paraplegics, quadriplegics)

◆◆ To indicate the presence of a hunter who has a Permit to 
Hunt From a Standing Vehicle or a disability, an orange flag 
may be attached to the ORV. There is no size requirement 
for this flag.

◆◆ Operation of the ORV is still subject to licensing and all 
other requirements and restrictions, and operation must 
be at a speed and in a manner that does not degrade 
the environment. These privileges may extend to one 
companion of the disabled person serving as an operator 
or passenger of the disabled person’s ORV if the ORV is 
designed for passenger use.
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